Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Spec Ops: The Line

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2012, 12:34 PM   #1
rgabriel15
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 13
Posts: 89
Stuttering, lags and slowdowns

I tested the demo and liked the game but it seems not properly optimized.

My PC:

Core 2 Quad Q8200 @ 2.33Ghz
AMD HD6850 1GB
4GB DDR2
Windows 7 64bits
Catalyst 12.4 + CAP12.6 v1

First i tought was my CPU bottlenecking my GPU, but on Very High my GPU is in 90-100% usage. (Imo very demanding for the game graphics).

My issues are:

The game has constant and terrible lags when the engine is loading parts of the scenario (i presume is related to this) that frezes the game for 2-4 seconds. Its very anoying.

And when i'm in combat or in times of destruction of the scenario, i have huge fps drops (dips from 60 to 30fps and below)and stuttering.

Like i said its not a CPU bottleneck cause my GPU almost at full usage (90-100%). Dont know if its related to engine optimizations or AMD drivers.

Anyone else or its just me?
rgabriel15 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2012, 02:09 PM   #2
Rogersdead
 
 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Reputation: 307
Posts: 2,140
I had a few stutters during the helicoptor chase at the start of the demo. Once on foot they were reduced somewhat. I didn't experience the dramatic fps drops like you did though.

On the whole i thought the game looked and ran nicely. And remember that it is just a demo. I expect there will be a few tweaks here and there before the games release at the end of the month.

I'm running smiliar hardware to you
A Q6600 @3.2GHz
4GB DDR2
AMD HD6870
Win 7 64
Still running Cat 12.2 though. I don't usually grab the latest drivers unless i need to.
Rogersdead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 02:31 AM   #3
mo5319
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 3
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogersdead View Post
I had a few stutters during the helicoptor chase at the start of the demo. Once on foot they were reduced somewhat. I didn't experience the dramatic fps drops like you did though.

On the whole i thought the game looked and ran nicely. And remember that it is just a demo. I expect there will be a few tweaks here and there before the games release at the end of the month.

I'm running smiliar hardware to you
A Q6600 @3.2GHz
4GB DDR2
AMD HD6870
Win 7 64
Still running Cat 12.2 though. I don't usually grab the latest drivers unless i need to.
I played the demo aswell and noticed a weird issue.

First Playthrough:
- minFPS: 44
- maxFPS: 88
- avgFPS: 60+
- vsync on locks FPS to 60

Second Playthrough:
- minFPS: 26
- maxFPS: 67
- avgFPS: 49
- vsync on locks FPS to 30

Also the stuttering is very much noticeable during the helicopter scenario, but even on foot. Every time the game loads a new area and it's annoying.

RIG:
i7 950 @ 3.07 GHz (TURBO: 3.33 GHz)
6 GB DDR3
AMD HD 5870 1 GB
Win 7 64-bit
ATI CCC 11.12

If this is a bug in the demo, I hope they patch it in the full version. Then I might buy it when it's 90% OFF.

Last edited by mo5319: 06-13-2012 at 02:44 AM.
mo5319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 06:31 AM   #4
EpicHeavy
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Reputation: 51
Posts: 453
Had no problems whatsoever, fps was above 30 all the time, default graphical settings (high preset), resolution 1680x1050...

My conf:

amd x2 7750be @2,7ghz
nvidia gts 250 1gb
2 gb ram
EpicHeavy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 07:50 AM   #5
Rizaruky
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 17
I think this game like others doesnt like ATI/AMD graphs cards, I have a Nvidia XFX 9600gt XXX and it runs like hell, so in perfect.

Sorry for you mates
Rizaruky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 01:48 PM   #6
Arpogest
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 30
I can confirm significant performance degradation on the second playthrough with GTX 560.
Arpogest is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 10:42 PM   #7
Amy
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 2400
Posts: 4,186
Crappy performance on GTX690 and GTX690x2 SLI.

Sorry. not gonna get it, at least not at full price. It's seems a crappy version of Bulletstorm.
Amy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 12:34 AM   #8
NateN34
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 3
Posts: 51
Yeah, the performance leaves a lot to be desired. Stutters here and there and frequent FPS drops.

Although the graphics are actually pretty darn good once you get some AA on that.

Specs:
GTX570
2500K
8 Gigs RAM
1080P
NateN34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 08:54 AM   #9
kevinphayer
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by mo5319 View Post
I played the demo aswell and noticed a weird issue.

First Playthrough:
- minFPS: 44
- maxFPS: 88
- avgFPS: 60+
- vsync on locks FPS to 60

Second Playthrough:
- minFPS: 26
- maxFPS: 67
- avgFPS: 49
- vsync on locks FPS to 30

Also the stuttering is very much noticeable during the helicopter scenario, but even on foot. Every time the game loads a new area and it's annoying.

RIG:
i7 950 @ 3.07 GHz (TURBO: 3.33 GHz)
6 GB DDR3
AMD HD 5870 1 GB
Win 7 64-bit
ATI CCC 11.12

If this is a bug in the demo, I hope they patch it in the full version. Then I might buy it when it's 90% OFF.
I had similar FPS problem to you, first run with ONE of my 6870s, maxed out with vsync, I had a solid 60 FPS. 2nd run through, same setup, except now FPS was locked to 30, turning off vsync fixed that, but it the FPS only went up to like 47 or 50. With crossfire, I can get about 50 fps with vsync on.

Very weird, but I love the gameplay, the gunplay just feels really good, and story looks interesting.


my specs:

6870 crossfire
FX 6100 @ 4Ghz
8GB DDR3
Win 7 64 bit
kevinphayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2012, 09:18 PM   #10
RAMPAGE572
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Reputation: 10
Posts: 535
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgabriel15 View Post
I tested the demo and liked the game but it seems not properly optimized.

My PC:

Core 2 Quad Q8200 @ 2.33Ghz
AMD HD6850 1GB
4GB DDR2
Windows 7 64bits
Catalyst 12.4 + CAP12.6 v1

First i tought was my CPU bottlenecking my GPU, but on Very High my GPU is in 90-100% usage. (Imo very demanding for the game graphics).

My issues are:

The game has constant and terrible lags when the engine is loading parts of the scenario (i presume is related to this) that frezes the game for 2-4 seconds. Its very anoying.

And when i'm in combat or in times of destruction of the scenario, i have huge fps drops (dips from 60 to 30fps and below)and stuttering.

Like i said its not a CPU bottleneck cause my GPU almost at full usage (90-100%). Dont know if its related to engine optimizations or AMD drivers.

Anyone else or its just me?
mate no wonder you get stutters, you have ddr2 ram and a Core 2 Quad Q8200 @ 2.33Ghz maybe if you get a i5 and ddr3 ram you wouldnt have any issues
RAMPAGE572 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2012, 02:44 AM   #11
SmileyBarry
 
 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Reputation: 131
Posts: 902
What? I run it with a Core 2 Duo E7400 (2.8Ghz), 4GB of DDR2 800Mhz RAM and a NVIDIA GeForce 9600GT (1GB) and it runs solidly with everything set to max (apart from Ambient Occlusion. It lowers my FPS somewhat, but that's a framerate dropper everywhere).

For me, the demo ran beautifully and solidly.
SmileyBarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 06:23 PM   #12
Balagan
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Reputation: 37
Posts: 342
I've got the i3-380M and GT540M - very low performance when the resolution is higher than 800x600

Is that because of "demo" or because of Unreal Engine?
Balagan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2012, 08:46 PM   #13
Moegitto
 
 
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 15
I ran the demo with a resolution around 1200x760 and no problems. I play on a laptop though, I know nothing too much about conflicts because the PC's I've built in the past never had any problems. Some of these new cards are VERY selective about how they work and who they work with. I can say without a doubt this Radeon HD 6520g is surprising me left and right.
Moegitto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 05:20 AM   #14
kornetto
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 35
Posts: 280
I am having the same issues now

On my first playthrough the game ran smoothly with 60 FPS and now on my second playthrough I can hardly maintain 30 FPS and also get horrid frame skipping, I mean wtf, I have not changed ANYTHING on my system, why does the game run so bad now?!

GTX 460 1GB
Intel Core i7 2600k @ 3,4 GHZ
8 GB RAM
Win 7 64 bit

@1080p, very high setting + V-Sync
lowering settings and disabling V-Sync does not improve FPS in my case...
kornetto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 07:00 AM   #15
GamersAbyss
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 78
I've played the demo a lot with no problems other than trying to exit the game and that movie starts instead of ending the game (ctrl/alt/del time). I haven't tried it since it 'updated' itself. Guess I can go see if it's any different. I played all my games the same, very high settings, v-sync enabled, 1080.
GTX555x2 (SLI not enabled)
16GB RAM
i7-3960x
Win7 64 bit SP1
-Going to try it out now. Will post again if it's different- a.k.a. not running smooth like before.
GamersAbyss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > Q - S > Spec Ops: The Line


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.