Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Warp

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-15-2012, 08:12 AM   #1
z_scan
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
WARP won't start

I have installed warp but whenever i try to launch it it says performing firs time setup installing 1 of 1 and then it just crashes and sometimes the little sale windows will come up like steam thinks i just played the game. Anybody else having this problem?
z_scan is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 08:21 AM   #2
z_scan
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
Now when i try to play it sometimes it says performing ( step of )
z_scan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 02:00 PM   #3
z_scan
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
i tried downloading origin and it won't work on there either
z_scan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 09:03 AM   #4
Javin-Miles
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
Unhappy

Same here!

Anyone find a solution??
Javin-Miles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 11:38 AM   #5
hal9kay
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
same here

BUMP anyone?
hal9kay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 11:35 AM   #6
salari
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 13
Posts: 21
I'm on the same boat; crashed as soon as I press 'New Game' or even go to the game options. Can barely find anything online, thanks to the game having such a broad name.
salari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 04:29 PM   #7
Vanquich
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
I'm having the exact same problem. The game starts up: splash-screen -> screen goes black -> screen changes resolution -> game crashes.

I've tried running as admin, in compability modes, re-installed the physx and directx drivers. I know other Unreal Engine games work, btw.
Vanquich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 04:46 PM   #8
Vanquich
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 4
Lightbulb A working fix (to a certain degree)

HOLD YOUR HORSES! I remembered having a similar problem with inMomentum and the fix there (thank you username:"Easy__"!) was this:

Open BaseEngine.ini in warp/engine/config

use "ctrl f" to search for:

Code:
[Engine.ISVHacks]
bInitializeShadersOnDemand=False
DisableATITextureFilterOptimizationChecks=True
UseMinimalNVIDIADriverShaderOptimization=True
PumpWindowMessagesWhenRenderThreadStalled=False


set the "bInitializeShadersOnDemand" to "True":



[SystemSettings]
...
Distortion=True
FilteredDistortion=True
...

Now change "Distorsion" to "False"



I got WARP working by doing this, however it still crashed on me during the tutorial. But at least it's a start.
Vanquich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2012, 10:53 PM   #9
xplayman
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 24
I was on Live Chat with EA and of course they were useless. After enough fiddling around I figured out you have to disable Steam/Origin Overlay for Warp.

To do this in Steam you can Right Click on Warp, click on Properties, and then uncheck Enable Steam Community In Game. It should load now.

To do this in Origin you can click on the gear icon on the top right (titled "Customize and Control Origin"), click on settings, click on the In-Game tab, and underneath the checked Enable Origin In Game click on the bullet that says Supported Games Only. Alternatively you can uncheck Enable Origin In Game.

Hope this helps everyone. Steam name is xplayman25.
xplayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2012, 05:21 AM   #10
salari
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Reputation: 13
Posts: 21
Neither of the two solutions work.
salari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 10:30 AM   #11
z_scan
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
disabling the steam overlay didn't work for me either
z_scan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 10:46 AM   #12
MountainWulf86
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
A friend just gifted WARP to me. It works on his computer, but not mine. It crashes every time it gets to the start screen. I've tried all the fixes mentioned in this forum and none have worked. Now my friends money is wasted. What an utter rip off. I'm really ticked about this. Although I doubt EA cares at all. :/ Steam needs to refund my friends money and remove this game from their catalog until EA actually fixes their unplayable game. Which we all know, they won't bother..
MountainWulf86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2012, 07:51 AM   #13
hal9kay
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 2
No trouble with trapdoor

After losing patience with EA I contacted Trapdoor directly about this... They weren't able to solve the problem but the customer support was really good! Quick response, friendly... they took some system specs from me to see if anything could be done.

I suggested that maybe if it was easier, and seeing as I have a PS3 they could send me a D/L code for Warp on PSN and they did!

I'm playing the PSN version now, hopefully the steam version will get a bug fix soon, but thanks to Trapdoor having waaaaay better customer service skills than EA at least I can now play it.

Also... the first PSN code I was sent was for N.America and I'm in the UK so they sent me another one, but anyone who's in the same boat and has a PS3, and lives in N.America and wants a D/L code send me a message..... first come first served!
hal9kay is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Warp


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.