Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > H - L > Left 4 Dead 2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-21-2012, 06:42 AM   #1
Snobsy
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
Unhappy left4dead2.exe has stopped working!

I went to play some lfd2 tonight but as I started the game I got this error message "left4dead2.exe has stopped working". Left for Dead 2 was working perfectly fine yesterday and it is quite puzzling why it would crash like this.
Any help on the matter would be greatly appreciated.
Additional info:

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: left4dead2.exe
Application Version: 0.0.0.0
Application Timestamp: 4e860226
Fault Module Name: shaderapidx9.dll
Fault Module Version: 0.0.0.0
Fault Module Timestamp: 4e860144
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 00030bc6
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 1033
Additional Information 1: 0a9e
Additional Information 2: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789
Additional Information 3: 0a9e
Additional Information 4: 0a9e372d3b4ad19135b953a78882e789

I've also gone to local files to "Verify Integrity of Game Cache" which resulting in a 300mb download which still resulted in the same error message.
My gaming rig also has beyond the required technical specs so that cannot be the problem.
I've run out of options.
Please help!
Snobsy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 04:44 PM   #2
Snobsy
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
Bumping to get a reply
Snobsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 04:48 PM   #3
Beastje3
 
Banned
Join Date: Jul 2012
Reputation: 40
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snobsy View Post
Bumping to get a reply
Bumped so your request of help may be answered.


Thank god i have an xbox,i have no idea what you're talking about

Last edited by Beastje3: 07-21-2012 at 04:48 PM. Reason: My spelling fail'd :)
Beastje3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2012, 11:54 PM   #4
Spyro Cool
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 441
Posts: 673
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beastje3 View Post
Bumped so your request of help may be answered.


Thank god i have an xbox,i have no idea what you're talking about
Bumped so the OP's request of help may be answered.

Thank God I have an PC, I know exactly what you're talking about, but it usually happens with hl2.exe to me.
Spyro Cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 12:23 AM   #5
astaman
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 64
Posts: 180
Remembered seeing this in another thread a while back and this was the solution.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guzzie View Post
found how to fix From Windows, go to: Start > Run
Type in: cmd (Vista users may also type cmd into the "Start Search" box if no "Run" option is available)
Type in the following: net localgroup Administrators /add Local service and press Enter.
Restart the computer and test the issue once more.
original thread here.

Hope that helps.
astaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 01:31 AM   #6
Snobsy
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
Same problem I'm afraid...
What is going on >.<
Snobsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 01:58 AM   #7
XenoSpyro
 
Banned
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 31
Posts: 322
At least you got an error report. My game just up and closed itself for no reason with nothing to say..... again.
XenoSpyro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 11:27 PM   #8
Snobsy
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
Darn, still no progress
Snobsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 11:31 PM   #9
POLICEMATRIX
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Reputation: 509
Posts: 3,064
go here

the following workaround existed:

Stop and set to Disabled the Windows Management Instrumentation service. (Services.msc). However, I found out this also disables System restore functionality;
POLICEMATRIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 01:10 AM   #10
Snobsy
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 8
And now it works... lfd2 you puzzle me sometimes
Snobsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2012, 04:44 PM   #11
Professor L.
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 7
Did you edit the windows file to make it work? I can't accept that as a solution to a problem thats apparently been around since 2010 or earlier. And if you did, does TF2 still work normally? If you play that is

Last edited by Professor L.: 07-23-2012 at 04:49 PM.
Professor L. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 01:05 PM   #12
Mad Professor
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Reputation: 0
Posts: 46
I am having problems with Left4Dead2 just crashing out mid game without any warnings.

I just get "left4dead2.exe has stopped working" and a close button, no error codes or anything like that.

I have tried all the fixes that I can find, and still have the same problem.

I even installed a spare blank hard drive, and did a new install of windows, all updates, drivers, steam, and left4dead2, and I still get the same crashing.

Any more ideas?
Mad Professor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > H - L > Left 4 Dead 2


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.