Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > ARMA series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2012, 11:15 AM   #1
Ardbug
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Reputation: 534
Posts: 2,251
What does this mean? (DayZ)

I just bought the Arma 2 pack to try the DayZ MOD, but so far I havent been able to get a single game going all day long, often when I click a server it shows me some names in green on the right, then goes right back to the server browser with a message at the bottom that reads:
"You cannot play/edit this mission; it is dependent on downloadable content that has been deleted.Chernarus"

When I try to verify local cache through Steam it consitently downloads 1 file, so I must assume the game consistently deletes something, but since I havent been able to play even once I have no reference as to how the game is supposed to work or which responses to expect as normal, what is going on please ?

Last edited by Ardbug: 05-16-2012 at 01:13 PM.
Ardbug is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 11:37 AM   #2
Aqwertybqwerty
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Reputation: 33
Posts: 174
Did you manually install the mod? If not, download the files from the website and follow one of the tutorials out there (don't forget the launch options).
Aqwertybqwerty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 11:42 AM   #3
Ardbug
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Reputation: 534
Posts: 2,251
I followed a youtube tutorial, manually downloaded the .rar files and extracted them into steam/.../@dayz/addons like it said.
Ardbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 01:09 PM   #4
Duttebayo
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 21
Posts: 562
You need arma 2 ...
Duttebayo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 01:10 PM   #5
Ardbug
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Reputation: 534
Posts: 2,251
I bought the arma 2 pack.
(edited main post)
Ardbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 01:19 PM   #6
Kompster
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 36
Posts: 53
Double click on ARMA II: Operation Arrowhead in your games library, select the bottom option on the popup that says something like "Launch ARMA II Combined Operations" ... Should solve your problem.
Kompster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 01:25 PM   #7
Ardbug
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Reputation: 534
Posts: 2,251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kompster View Post
Double click on ARMA II: Operation Arrowhead in your games library, select the bottom option on the popup that says something like "Launch ARMA II Combined Operations" ... Should solve your problem.
I have done that too a few times, and I have actually gotten into a game but was stuck on "waiting for server response" for like 8 minutes before I ESCaped out, but I will start it from there from now on definitely if it helps.
Ardbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 01:32 PM   #8
Kompster
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 36
Posts: 53
Forgot the mention... but you probably already did...
Your launch options need to include "-mod=@dayz -nosplash"

The waiting for server thing is normal, the game takes some time to connect and load your initial character profile, its especially slow right now with it being as popular as it is. The character server is under heavy loads. Patience or persistence, your call...

I have difficulty connecting to some servers, so I move onto others and have more success connecting.
Kompster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 01:37 PM   #9
Ardbug
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Reputation: 534
Posts: 2,251
Yeah I figured the "waiting for server response" was a direct result of the viral popularity it is experiencing right at this moment, and yes I have my launch options set correct, Im just wondering what exactly it means when it says I cant play/edit because some file is deleted.

(edit) just managed to get into a game, so there is a hole through, I suspect my troubles were all related to the character server being very very busy right now

Last edited by Ardbug: 05-16-2012 at 03:58 PM.
Ardbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 08:21 PM   #10
Psycold
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Reputation: 40
Posts: 500
I'm experiencing your exact issue with zero luck
Psycold is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 10:24 PM   #11
OneEighteen
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 11
Posts: 80
join a server with like 20 out of 50 ppl almost full servers are a pain to join so just join a less populated one and just wait you will get in there in no time
OneEighteen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 06:58 AM   #12
Vaemer-Riit
 
 
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Reputation: 167
Posts: 1,137
This error message:

"You cannot play/edit this mission; it is dependent on downloadable content that has been deleted.Chernarus"

Is caused by launching ARMA II Operation Arrowhead and not ARMA II Combined Operations. Be sure to always launch as Combined Operations and you will not get this message.
Vaemer-Riit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 07:20 AM   #13
Duttebayo
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 21
Posts: 562
add this line to launch option OA (-mod=@dayz)
Duttebayo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 07:39 AM   #14
Whitehead221
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Reputation: 10
Posts: 189
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duttebayo View Post
add this line to launch option OA (-mod=@dayz)
This ^^. You must have that in the command line otherwise it won't pick up the folder.
Whitehead221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2012, 08:22 AM   #15
mrWeed
 
 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 427
Posts: 446
I used the DayZ updater, it worked perfectly for me.
mrWeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > ARMA series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.