Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Oddworld series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2011, 06:27 AM   #1
Sikasui
 
Join Date: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 12
Unhappy Strangers Wrath Loading Screen Freeze!

Hello There :3

I bought the oddbox a few weeks ago and have had no problems with either abes oddysee or exodus, ive yet to play munchs so thats next on the list.

Ive never played strangers wrath, but have always wanted to, so this pack was got for that mainly. When i load the game it loads up fine and looks promising, but the main screen is frozen on please wait loading...

I can hear the menu in the background and can hear the noises of me going through the menu. Anyone have a fix for this? is it the end for my dreams to play Strangers?

Any help would be greatly appreciated :3 Thanks in advance people.

Sikasui
Sikasui is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 10:37 AM   #2
AmazingManco
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 22
Posts: 337
Sounds like you have an Intel GPU. Not much you can do unless you plan on replacing it with an nVidia or ATI card, sorry.

Blame Intel and their poor OpenGL support.
AmazingManco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 11:13 AM   #3
euden
 
 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Reputation: 6
Posts: 100
hopefully it will be fixed with the HD update. i have the same issue
euden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 05:41 AM   #4
AmazingManco
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 22
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by euden View Post
hopefully it will be fixed with the HD update. i have the same issue
As do I. I believe Stewart Gilray has stated the HD update will use OpenGL ES, and said that it should work on Intel GPUs.
AmazingManco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 07:40 AM   #5
MorbiusMonster
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Reputation: 0
Posts: 1
I too have this problem. I have tried pretty much all the options that Steam Support recommended, but nothing works.
MorbiusMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2012, 12:29 PM   #6
Obsydiaan
 
 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Reputation: 21
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by AmazingManco View Post
As do I. I believe Stewart Gilray has stated the HD update will use OpenGL ES, and said that it should work on Intel GPUs.
I had heard that they're switching the renderer to DirectX. I'm not sure which one they're going with, but either way, after the update the game should run for Intel users (If their chip is strong enough to run it in the first place) and it should fix the artifacting for ATI/AMD users as well.
Obsydiaan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > M - P > Oddworld series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.