Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Titan Quest

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2012, 08:14 PM   #1
Tacred
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 13
How do I run this as administrator?

I cant get online since it says invalid socket error whenever i click refresh. Searched around and it says I need to run the game in administrator but I cant seem to run any game I got from steam under that. My disc based games let me but not steam. How do I fix it?
Tacred is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2012, 11:23 PM   #2
EchoingZen
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Reputation: 70
Posts: 576
Try this:

* Right Click on Titan Quest in your Steam Library.
* Click on Create Desktop Shortcut
* Right Click on the newly created icon on your desktop
* Click on Run as Administrator

This would be my best guess, I hope it works.
EchoingZen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 06:29 AM   #3
Tacred
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 13
Nope, already tried that. Thats the basic way to get any game to run in admin. Doesnt work with my steam games. The option just doesn't appear.
Tacred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 07:31 AM   #4
RosietheRiveter
 
RosietheRiveter's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Reputation: 238
Posts: 2,085
Have you tried Soul Seekor's Defiler program?
It has a fix for the socket issue
Requires TQ and TQIT and the 1.17a fan patch to be installed

http://tq.soulseekkor.com/

Its not necessary to apply any of the modifications but there is a screen that provides the option to enable 3 game fixes including the one for the socket issue

Last edited by RosietheRiveter: 01-23-2012 at 07:34 AM.
RosietheRiveter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 11:36 AM   #5
Tacred
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Reputation: 0
Posts: 13
Well, it works now. But no one uses this fan made patch. Any way I can just use the fix and not the patch?
Tacred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2012, 01:12 PM   #6
RosietheRiveter
 
RosietheRiveter's Avatar
 
Volunteer Moderator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Reputation: 238
Posts: 2,085
glad to hear that you got it working
as to whether the patch is necessary, you should double check the FAQ pages on the Soul Seekor forums

Last edited by RosietheRiveter: 01-23-2012 at 01:18 PM.
RosietheRiveter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2012, 04:59 PM   #7
laconic
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Reputation: 5
Posts: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tacred View Post
Nope, already tried that. Thats the basic way to get any game to run in admin. Doesnt work with my steam games. The option just doesn't appear.
IIRC, to play a steam game, it launches from steam, even if you click the exe for the game itself. Windows will not let a process (Steam) launch another process in admin mode unless the first process is also running in admin mode.

Try shutting down Steam completely. Then launch Steam in admin mode. Launch TQ from Steam library.
laconic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 09:52 AM   #8
JagaTelesin
 
 
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Reputation: 31
Posts: 391
Fan patch is highly recommended no matter what you end up doing.
JagaTelesin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > T - Z > Titan Quest


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.