Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Crysis series

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2010, 09:11 AM   #91
brutedawg
 
 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Reputation: 0
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by alientoaster View Post
I felt so stupid after reading the suggestion that it might be AVG's fault rather than 100% EA's or Crytek's. I found that setting an exception for the "My Games\ Crysis" folder in the resident shield works just great!

Tools > Advanced Settings > Resident Shield > Directory Excludes > Add Path
BOOM. WORKED. I'm on win7 x64 using AVG and sure enough.. thanks man, i had almost lost hope for this game.
brutedawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2010, 02:31 PM   #92
PornStoreSTiffi
 
Join Date: May 2010
Reputation: 18
Posts: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fireye View Post
As I posted in another thread, what worked for me was to turn off my AVG realtime scanner while I play Crysis. As soon as I turned off the virus scanner, the game ran flawlessly. I'll try experimenting with this further when I get home, you may be able to just add directory exclusions for your virus scanner to prevent it from triggering.
Adding the directory exclusion worked a 100% for me. Thanks for the tip, you kick .
PornStoreSTiffi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 03:39 PM   #93
dleib
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Step 1:
Follow the link on the first page to install Microsoft's latest DirectX, Click the link, Install the downloaded exe, Reboot.

that looks like its installing directx 9. isn't the latest version directx 10?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 07:42 PM   #94
rayfe
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Thanks for the fix keeper, +rep coming your way.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 05:13 PM   #95
Nimnio
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 62
@alientoaster, @Fireye: Thanks for the tip! I'm on Windows 7, 64 bit, and I was having the same option-changing crashes, but setting a folder exclusion in AVG solved the problem.
Nimnio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2010, 06:40 PM   #96
livE
 
 
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Reputation: 228
Posts: 2,010
Quote:
Originally Posted by wv1973 View Post
ATI 8750
Can I has ticket to the future?
livE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2010, 11:23 AM   #97
nosmiles
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
mac + bootcamp + windows xp + crysis = cheapier than a good windows , and way better .
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2010, 11:19 PM   #98
neutralist
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
I have Windows 7 and it crash like every 10 minutes.

Run in Direct X 9 mode = no more crash at all.

Just set launch option -dx9.
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 04:40 AM   #99
cretz89
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Wow, thanks a lot. AVG resident shield -_-
  Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2010, 06:10 AM   #100
boxterduke
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Reputation: 3
Posts: 109
I just want to thank the person with the AVG solution. I was not able to save settings in Original Crysis without it crashing. Warhead was fine.

I was debating for a while to get rid of AVG and put the Microsoft Security Essentials and that did it for me.

AVG was off, Microsoft = happy Crysis.
boxterduke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 04:10 AM   #101
mdie1234
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Saved me a headache

Quote:
Originally Posted by alientoaster View Post
I felt so stupid after reading the suggestion that it might be AVG's fault rather than 100% EA's or Crytek's. I found that setting an exception for the "My Games\ Crysis" folder in the resident shield works just great!

Tools > Advanced Settings > Resident Shield > Directory Excludes > Add Path


Alternatively, a user on the EA support forums says that replacing a .dll from 1.21 with the one from 1.2 solved his problem (and he kindly provided it upon request ):

http://forum.ea.com/eaforum/posts/list/30/324444.page
THANK YOU! This works like a charm. You just saved me a headache.
  Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 05:19 AM   #102
joeybob
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by alientoaster View Post
I felt so stupid after reading the suggestion that it might be AVG's fault rather than 100% EA's or Crytek's. I found that setting an exception for the "My Games\ Crysis" folder in the resident shield works just great!

Tools > Advanced Settings > Resident Shield > Directory Excludes > Add Path


Alternatively, a user on the EA support forums says that replacing a .dll from 1.21 with the one from 1.2 solved his problem (and he kindly provided it upon request ):

http://forum.ea.com/eaforum/posts/list/30/324444.page
perfect thanks a lot
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2011, 01:48 AM   #103
Imradi
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
I just got Crysis from the deal few days ago. Got all the same issues. I already added the exception in AVG, added "everybody" to the securitytab, enabled compatibility mode and "runas admin".. no help. The game just crashes when starting..

Next thing i try the hint with the CryAction.dll and fully uninstalling AVG.. hope that does the trick. Last thing i'll try then is moving the folder to a flashdrive..

Oh and btw: Installing dx9.0c does NOT downgrade your dx11! It just adds some dx9 libraries needed in some games. No worries, your windows will still show dx11 as installed version Just remember, most games still are running on dx9 so installing the libraries can't hurt
Imradi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2011, 08:48 PM   #104
rklapp
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Reputation: 0
Posts: 3
I got the same problem, I got a fully updated copy of Windows 7. I have a Nvidia 460, and plenty of RAM. All my drivers are up to date and I have the latest Directx. I actually re-installed Windows 7 recently and re-installed the game and went back to it after not playing for a year and remember having the same problem on it before. Every other game I have works fine, most actually requiring a lot more than it does
rklapp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 02:50 PM   #105
FartingMonkey
 
Guest
Posts: n/a
Im urm still getting this problem... any ideas?

Am getting a very similar story to everyone else anytime i click ok to settings change game crashes, had crysis for years on digital download but steam had sale for all 3 (warhead,wars,crysis) so bought that and had loads of problems with it no 64 bit version wats up with that?

Any help much ablidged

I7 920 4ghz
6gb ddr3
5850
7 64 bit profesional
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Go Back   Steam Users' Forums > Steam Game Discussions > # - C > Crysis series


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site Content Copyright Valve Corporation 1998-2012, All Rights Reserved.